1.-3.4.2011, Police (near Szczecin)

 While many others were already playing the warm-up doubles on Friday evening, i was still on my way towards Police...

At first flying Helsinki-Vantaa -> Stockholm -> Berlin.

 

Also my suitcase arrived to Berlin at the same time with me 

Then by a minibus from Berlin to Szczecin, and finally by two local busses from Szczecin to Police, reaching the venue bit before midnight. Bit of an adventure to get there .

 

Polish Open, Saturday

 Surprise on Saturday morning... There was so huge amount of men playing that the organizers had decided to postpone the starting time of the ladies until 2 p.m., to get more boards for the men's games. To be honest, i liked that arrangement because now a got a chance to go back to my room and take a nap  before the games, and to recover bit better from all of the traveling. And it really was worth of taking that nap! I felt much more fresh when the games started and that could be seen in the results: i won first 4 games in my round robin group . But then... lost my last game, and was 2nd in my group. Thus in last 16 i got to play against a group winner from another group. Tough game but i won. In quarter-finals i got to play against Deta Hedman. Really exciting game! I lost 1-3. Afterwards Deta told that i was the only one who took even a leg from her during the whole day! So i could somehow sleep even though i had missed my chance to take also another leg .

 

Women's singles

 

1

Deta HEDMAN (UK)

2

Rachna DAVID (NOR)

3-4

Kristina BILODID (UKR)

3-4

Natasja BONHOF (HOL)

5-8

Maret LIIRI (FIN)

5-8

Jolanta RZEPKA (POL)

5-8

Joanna NAWROCKA (POL)

5-8

Erika BAGDONAVIČIENĖ (LTU)

 

Men's singles

 

1

Darryl FITTON (UK)

2

Stephen BUNTING (UK)

3-4

Dave PRINS (UK)

3-4

Paul JENNINGS (UK)

5-8

Tony MARTIN (UK)

5-8

Patryk ŻABKA (POL)

5-8

Alan NORRIS (UK)

5-8

Dawid ROBAK (POL)

 

 

The best ladies: Rachna & Deta

 

 

My saturday evening's night-snack, delicious!

 

Police Masters, Sunday

 Also on Sunday the beginning time for the ladies' games was later than for the men, allowing me to sleep bit longer in the morning.

Sunday started with round robin groups of 5 ladies. This time i was a good girl: i believed what Paul James said to me previous night, and won all my games in my round robin group .

  

Cindy Schulz and me, we played each other in last 16.

 

By Sunday evening the bartender already knew without asking what would i like to drink: my drink of the weekend was grapefruit juice, a big one of course, and without ice . And seems that on Sunday i remembered to take care of my liquid and energy balance - i had enough energy to reach the semi-finals . But then lost 2-4 to Rachna. Still, a great weekend with good darts and great people!

 

Women's singles

 

1

Deta HEDMAN

2

Rachna DAVID

3-4

Joanna NAWROCKA

3-4

Maret LIIRI

5-8

Erika BAGDONAVIČIENĖ

5-8

Natasha BONHOF

5-8

Karolina PODGÓRSKA

5-8

Renata VAIKUTIENE

 

Men's singles

 

1

Paul JENNINGS

2

Steve DOUGLAS

3-4

Robert WAGNER

3-4

Jan VAN DER RASSEL

5-8

Fabian ROOSENBRAND

5-8

Wesley HARMS

5-8

Bryan DE HOOG

5-8

Hans ACHTEN

 

 

I catched the winner, Paul Jennings, who didn't give much chance to his opponent in the final. He was a great example how one should play!